Violence against women & girls, will it ever end?!

This is from a graduation project  I did in 2016 in a research training scholarship:

(Violence against women and girls is considered a human rights violation that sweeps many parts of the world as a dangerous epidemic that needs all joint efforts and resources combined together to put an end to it. Per the UN, seven out of every ten women has experienced physical and/or sexual violence at some stage in their lifetime and sixty million girls marry before the age of eighteen globally. These numbers illuminate the severity of the phenomena that we are researching, and leave no room for underestimating it, taking or dealing with it lightly or turning a blind eye to it. Despite all advancements made by human beings, unfortunately when it comes to violence against women and girls, we are shamefully lagging behind. Those numbers cannot be ignored or simply swept under the rug.

Violence against women and girls will not end in a day, and will take years and years to finally be eradicated. Like the millions of doctors who take pride in having eradicated ‘Polio’; this too can be eradicated, with dedicating sincere diligent efforts and through hard work. Violence against women and girls can be ended and eradicated, with billions of human beings taking pride that they have achieved that milestone.)

 

I preach about love, brotherhood, humanity, compassion, empathy, sympathy, & many other great beautiful things, but guess what none of those great things I do for others & which I truly believe in myself,  had been practiced by others towards me! & it will make your heart bleed if you just hear what I had been through & still see till this very day. The amount of pain, suffering , harm, injustice, abuse, assault, harassment, & hurt that I went through & still witness is unimaginable!

It’s as if everyone who comes my way had taken a sacred oath or on a holy mission to do whatever harm, hurt, abuse, assault, harassment, destruction that they can towards me!

 

I want to call myself a ‘SURVIVOR’ of ‘Violence Against Women & Girls’, but I guess my tale with violence has not yet ended, it will end one day God willing, but I survived death (falling from the seventh floor), & my precious life was saved from death for a greater purpose that I’ve to fulfill, & to also tell the tale of Samia Hassan, what was done to her & find out why did it all happen in the first place?

I’ve seen many kinds of violence, from different types of people, people from different faiths & religions (asked myself each time why didn’t their religion, faith, principles, ethics or any other thing stop them from harming me?!),  from people who were close to me & others who weren’t, be it at home, street, university, work,at a small course, even the supermarket! & then because of a bigger kind of violence, one where many people participated in I got disability, many kinds of life long injuries & trauma.

The big theme that many of those stories of violence shared & had in common was: they all wanted to force me into doing something beyond my will, something that usually involved relationships with men.

After analyzing the situation at home & in my country that had denied me employment for nearly three years violence is practiced against me in hope that I’ll then run away from home or from the difficulty of the hardships of unemployment, & throw myself at any man who will offer me a roof over my head, & the lifestyle I desire & aim to have! But all their attempts are doomed to fail. Or maybe at worse case scenario they think I’ll turn to a man & seek his protection from all that is happening with/to me!(How come when most my problems come from men & the women who aid them?!)

 

It’s not been a very easy journey for me at most times, & all that I wanted was/is to live a dignified , honorable, safe, meaningful, & fulfilling live like many people. One where  I DO NO HARM TO ANYONE NOR ANYONE HARMS ME.

 

I always believed & practiced (That if I can’t help someone then I shouldn’t by any means harm them.), but many humans aren’t like this!

 

So let’s define what violence against women & girls is(This is from a graduation project  I did in 2016 in a research training scholarship:

Violence is defined as follows:
[T]he intentional use of physical force or power, threatened or actual, against oneself, another person, or against a group or community, that either results in or has a high likelihood of resulting in injury, death, psychological harm, maldevelopment, or deprivation. (WHO int, 2016)
Violence against women and girls is one of the most systematic and widespread human rights violations. It is rooted in gendered social structures rather than individual and random acts; it cuts across age, socio-economic, educational and geographic boundaries; affects all societies; and is a major obstacle to ending gender inequality and discrimination globally (UN General Assembly, 2006).

 

This is another definition from the internet:

The United Nations defines violence against women as “any act of gender-based violence that results in, or is likely to result in, physical, sexual or psychological harm or suffering to women, including threats of such acts, coercion or arbitrary deprivation of liberty, whether occurring in public or in private life”

 

Why do men do this? Why others aid them in practicing such human rights crimes ?  Can violence against women & girls be ended? Plus many other elements will the next topic I’ll discuss.

 

 

Leave a Reply

